City trying to curb wild pigs at Kaneohe botanical park (Read 7947 times)

2aHawaii

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sheepdog
  • Referrals: 17
    • View Profile
    • 2aHawaii
City trying to curb wild pigs at Kaneohe botanical park
« on: November 25, 2011, 12:02:00 PM »
I thought this was a kind of interesting article on wild pigs. Does anyone know how bad the boar problem is getting on Oahu?

http://www.staradvertiser.com/news/breaking/134440598.html
I am not a lawyer.

"A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed." - United States Constitution Amendment 2 & Hawaii State Constitution Article 1 Section 17

Buying from Amazon? Click through here

crazy cat

Re: City trying to curb wild pigs at Kaneohe botanical park
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2011, 02:39:32 PM »
I live in Glenwood (Big Island), and there used to be a lot of wild pigs in the forest (talk about your agricultural pests.....).  I haven't seen so much as a footprint in a couple of years.  I think this is related to the 2008 crash and the ongoing lack of jobs. 

hvybarrels

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2011, 03:24:13 PM »
They didn't start calling it 'The Great Depression' until the 1930's when it was almost over. Most likely the pigs here will get a whole lot smarter over the next few years.
“Wars happen when the government tells you who the enemy is. Revolutions happen when you figure it out for yourselves.”

bass monkey

« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2011, 05:34:14 PM »
The workers probably trapping and taking the meat home.

I know in Kailua/dump road always get pigs at our site

Tom_G

« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2011, 10:18:51 PM »
Ask any pig hunter here how "bad" the pig problem is.  Then wait an hour until they stop laughing before they launch into a rant about how much time and effort they spend without any success.