Blood lead levels (Read 8272 times)

zippz

Blood lead levels
« on: March 10, 2018, 09:06:56 AM »
Has anyone gotten their lead levels checked?

I got a lead level check a couple years ago and it was 1 or 2 micrograms which is the average for a normal person.  I thought it would be higher due to shooting, cleaning guns, and reloading.  I admit I slack on hygiene after I do these activities.

Got me wondering from the SWAT range news story if people realize the dangers of high blood lead levels which can lead to memory loss, disabilities, retardation, and other long-term health problems.  I started shooting at Honolulu Firearms indoor range which has a older air ventilation system so wondering if my lead levels may be creeping up.  I took classes in range development which emphasized the potential for lead poisoning and they gave this example of range and construction workers getting very sick.  http://projects.seattletimes.com/2014/loaded-with-lead.  It's a good detailed 5 part story.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2018, 09:24:52 AM by zippz »
Join the Hawaii Firearms Coalition at www.hifico.org.  Hawaii's new non-profit gun rights organization focused on lobbying and grassroots activism.

Hawaii Shooting Calendar - https://calendar.google.com/calendar/embed?src=practicalmarksman.com_btllod1boifgpp8dcjnbnruhso%40group.calendar.google.com&ctz=Pacific/Honolulu

rklapp

Re: Blood lead levels
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2018, 03:19:40 PM »
No, but I don't cast boolits so haven't seen a need yet. I did use a lead test kit for my reloading surfaces and found no traces. There are significant amounts of lead on the patches after cleaning my Mosin and shooting the cast boolits, but no chunks of lead so the Nox seems to be working.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008BK15PU
Yahh! Freedom and justice shall always prevail over tyranny, Babysitter Girl!
https://ronsreloading.wordpress.com/

Tom_G

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2018, 04:15:43 PM »