Question: springfield 1911 GI milspec (Read 4443 times)

zhuzhits

Question: springfield 1911 GI milspec
« on: March 01, 2012, 09:57:26 AM »
Several questions,

1) I got it used from my friend, so the plunger tube is loose on the hammer side. Cheaper to have a shop punch it tight or to buy the tool & do it myself?
2) seems like a hassle to fit a upgraded beavertal grip safety. Any suggestions on the best brand to buy for minimal adjustments?
3) best upgraded hammer to buy for minimal adjustments?
4) the GI sights s*ck donkey balls, fast target aquisition is impossible... Being a rookie, I cant tell if I can change out the sights or if I need to go to a gunsmith or change the whole barrel.

Any help is greatly appreciated  :shaka:

GZire

Re: Question: springfield 1911 GI milspec
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2012, 04:11:38 PM »
Can you take a pic of the gun?  Sights are mounted on the slide, so the question becomes do you need a sight pusher, you can drift the sights yourself with a punch, or if you can't adjust the POA period.

zhuzhits

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2012, 06:38:12 PM »
Not to sure if you can tell from this stock pic, I'm working on uploading actual pics

[attachment deleted by admin]

Heavies

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2012, 03:38:11 AM »
One thing about 1911s is the mods are not quite that easy.  The frame usuallly has to be modified (ground, filed, and fitted) to accept a beavertail grip safety. Most bevertail safeties will not accept the full hammer.  The sights can be changed to more visible ones, be the front sight is staked on through the slide.  Special tube is required to remove and stake a new one on.

GZire

« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2012, 07:39:32 AM »
Depending on the rear sight you want, you will probably need to recut the rear sight notch to fit the new one.