Precision Rifle - Aftermarket/Replacement Stocks - Discuss (Read 6178 times)

drck1000

Precision Rifle - Aftermarket/Replacement Stocks - Discuss
« on: November 02, 2020, 03:40:28 PM »
Chassis or rifle stock?  Why?

Features you desire? 

Include some context of your shooting interests.

I'm looking to replace the Hogue stock on my Rem 700 .308 SPS bolt action.  Something I had actually wanted to do many years ago, but put on hold once the steel got taken down at Koko Head.  Getting back into shooting my Rem 700 lately, so am reengergized in replacing the stock. 

I had been looking at McMillan, Manners, H-S Precision, A-1 and some others.  But have been looking more into chassis systems. 

ren

Re: Precision Rifle - Aftermarket/Replacement Stocks - Discuss
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2020, 05:10:55 PM »
I think chassis systems are the future - no bedding, material assuming that its a metal would not be prone to the elements. I don't own a chassis system but I have had some experience bedding a few bolt actions - Savage, Remington 40x. Bedding can be a chore if not done right and not understanding what you are trying to accomplish. With that in mind I'd imagine designing and machining a good chassis would also take into account the same concepts in bedding a traditional stock.
I have a  McMillan, stock Remington stock that I bedded. The best epoxy is DevCon plastic steel and it does have a shelf life. I could only find it at Graingers. Doesn't shrink and its pretty tough.
With chassis systems you can also add accessories but I'd also imagine a metal chassis would be more heavier than a fiberglass stock i.e. Manners or McMillan. Another consideration is that the military acquired chassis systems. Some snipers said they liked the chassis, some didn't. I never handled one.
Deeds Not Words

aaronc5362

« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2020, 07:28:32 PM »
Mdt chassis are nice. I had one for my tikka and it was light weight compared to the aics 1.0 i had for my rem.