When to buy (Read 2771 times)

DEROS

When to buy
« on: July 17, 2021, 05:49:52 PM »
I finally got a reservation for a PTA.  Read that once the PTA is approved, it is only valid for 10 days. Most likely buying from mainland dealer and shipped to FFL.  So should I/could I order prior to getting the PTA or buy after getting the PTA?  What happens if the gun arrives after the 10 day PTA validation? 

I’m 99.9% sure I will get the PTA.  If don’t I will have bigger issues to worry about.  I.e The gun I already have registered and a job that requires a security clearance.  I’m a mainland transplant so all I had to do was register my gun so I have no experience buying in Hawaii, which BTW is a PITA.

Thanks

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Flapp_Jackson

Re: When to buy
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2021, 06:12:48 PM »
I finally got a reservation for a PTA.  Read that once the PTA is approved, it is only valid for 10 days. Most likely buying from mainland dealer and shipped to FFL.  So should I/could I order prior to getting the PTA or buy after getting the PTA?  What happens if the gun arrives after the 10 day PTA validation? 

I’m 99.9% sure I will get the PTA.  If don’t I will have bigger issues to worry about.  I.e The gun I already have registered and a job that requires a security clearance.  I’m a mainland transplant so all I had to do was register my gun so I have no experience buying in Hawaii, which BTW is a PITA.

Thanks

If you're buying a handgun, then you need to purchase it BEFORE your PTA appointment.  The PTA application requires a full description of the handgun including the serial number.  If it's a private transaction, it's up to the seller if they require a deposit/full payment up front before they provide the gun's info to you.  Dealers require full payment up front, after which they will give you a receipt with the specifics for that handgun.