Getting and registering a gun in Hawaii (Read 211786 times)

stangzilla

Re: Getting and registering a gun in Hawaii
« Reply #560 on: June 10, 2020, 07:16:54 AM »
I was told five business days when I applied for my permits to acquire last month and in fact there is a paper taped to the window 
that has the "pickup dates" printed on it. It was recommended to me to take a pic of it with my phone.

Craig B

 :) :) :)

thanks  :shaka:

found this on HPD website:
There is a 14 day waiting period on all permits. After the 14-day waiting period the permit will be valid for only 6 calendar days. Permits not picked up by the 6th day will be voided. Applicants will need to reapply and go through another 14-day waiting period, so please plan accordingly.



As an option, long-gun applicants may have their processed permits mailed to them. Applicants need to provide a self-addressed pre-paid envelope, certified restricted-delivery return receipt required(available at the U.S. Post Office) at time of application for permit. Long-gun (rifles/shotguns) permits are valid for one (1) year from the date of issue.  Be advised that a handgun (pistols/revolvers) permit is valid for only ten (10) days from the date of issue.

stangzilla

Re: Getting and registering a gun in Hawaii
« Reply #561 on: June 10, 2020, 07:22:47 AM »
my friend couldn't get an appt to register until 8 days after apply for permit
so he'll either have to make an extra trip to hpd to pick up the permit then wait another 8 days to register firearm. or have it mailed to him certified mail.
another inconvenience

howzithowzit

Re: Getting and registering a gun in Hawaii
« Reply #562 on: July 27, 2020, 02:28:45 PM »
So after getting your permit for a long gun, and you purchase it. Are we not allowed to take it until we get an appointment to register it? Because as of today there aren't any openings for 90 days. Matter of fact they won't even let you schedule beyond that. And with Hawaiis law saying you must register it within 5 days, what do they expect people to do? Pay for it, and cross their fingers they get an appointment within the next 4 months to finally take home their rifle?
Doesn't seem reasonable at all.
I don't want to pick up my rifle, then go register it after finally getting an appointment 100 days later, only to be charged with some bullshit and lose my right to bear arms.

Flapp_Jackson

Re: Getting and registering a gun in Hawaii
« Reply #563 on: July 27, 2020, 02:50:23 PM »
So after getting your permit for a long gun, and you purchase it. Are we not allowed to take it until we get an appointment to register it? Because as of today there aren't any openings for 90 days. Matter of fact they won't even let you schedule beyond that. And with Hawaiis law saying you must register it within 5 days, what do they expect people to do? Pay for it, and cross their fingers they get an appointment within the next 4 months to finally take home their rifle?
Doesn't seem reasonable at all.
I don't want to pick up my rifle, then go register it after finally getting an appointment 100 days later, only to be charged with some bullshit and lose my right to bear arms.

A Permit to Acquire is just that -- a permit to buy and take possession of the firearm.  So, pay the seller, produce your valid long gun permit, and leave the store with your firearm.

Nowhere in the law is firearm acquisition contingent on registration.  The two processes are 100% apart and independent of each other.  An example would be bringing a firearm from out of state.  There's no permit required, only registration.

Once you own/acquire the firearm, then you make the registration appointment.  If you can't get an appointment date within 5 days, that's a state issue. 

Possessing, sighting in and practicing with your new long gun should not be prevented by a registration process that can't follow the same law they expect gun owners to follow.  HI COVID-19 proclamations have waived the registration period without penalty.  Some HPD officer/s has reportedly said you can't take your new gun to the range until it's registered.  Nowhere in the law does it say that, or else it would also apply to the 5 days between normal, pre-pandemic acquisition and registering.  It doesn't.

Do what you want.  It'll be okay whichever way you decide.
"That's what laws are for...  If the right people don't break 'em, they're of no use whatsoever.""