Help with a new .22 rifle (Read 14372 times)

2aHawaii

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sheepdog
  • Referrals: 17
    • View Profile
    • 2aHawaii
Help with a new .22 rifle
« on: December 07, 2009, 04:00:51 PM »
Hey guys,
I am looking to get myself a .22 rifle for Christmas. The two rifles I always hear about are the Ruger 10/22 and the Marlin Model 60.

What does everyone think of these rifles?

Are there any others I should consider?

Does anyone know if there are any better deals than Sports Authority?
Thanks.
I am not a lawyer.

"A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed." - United States Constitution Amendment 2 & Hawaii State Constitution Article 1 Section 17

Buying from Amazon? Click through here

Tom_G

Re: Help with a new .22 rifle
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2009, 08:13:14 PM »
I own a Marlin model 60, and have shot many Ruger 10/22s.  Personally, I prefer the Marlin.  Out of the box it is a sweet shooting gun' accurate, rugged, reliable.  It shoots every type of ammo I have ever fed it without complaint, except for WOlf.

If you are into "customizing" then the Ruger is the way to go... if you want to buy a gun and get straight to using it, I recommend the RUger.

I'll take a second and address a perceived shortcoming, namely the tubular magazine.  With the purchase of a Spee-D-Loader, you can reload more quickly than someone with a small pile of magazines.

I help out with the Aloha Council Boy Scouts.  One of their annual events is an all-day shooting camp for troops statewide, held at Camp Pupukea.  I showed up with my Marlin model 60 and loader.  The other dozen instructors on the rifle line all snickered at me as they uncased their various Ruger 10/22s.  Everyone was proud of their gun, and most of the instructors has 4-5 magazines each.