Here's a bit more on the Orange County Sheriff moving to "shall issue" based upon the Peruta Ninth Circuit panel decision:
The Orange County sheriff loosened requirements Wednesday for obtaining a concealed-weapons permit in light of a recent federal appellate court decision that deemed many urban counties in California to be overly restrictive in saying who can and can’t carry a concealed weapon.
Local applicants seeking a permit to carry a concealed weapon now only have to say that they need one for self-defense or personal safety. Previously, applicants were required to prove “good cause,” a standard that typically limited concealed weapons in Orange County to people who carry large sums of cash or valuables, or who could prove an existing mortal threat.
“Bottom line is the sheriff is going to abide by the law,” said Lt. Jeff Hallock, a spokesman for O.C. Sheriff Sandra Hutchens.
“Before the court’s decision, good cause was something that was evaluated by the sheriff. What she considers good cause may not be same as Los Angeles, Riverside or San Diego as good cause. But in looking at the decision, some of the subjectiveness is taken out of it.”
[And this...]
Getting a two-year standard concealed weapon permit in California still requires passing a background check and a posting fee of $195.22, and completing 16 hours of class time on carrying and shooting weapons.
[No mention of the cost of renewal... but the initial cost, with the class time, would likely be around $300... kinda pricey for lower income people.]
Full article:
http://www.ocregister.com/articles/sheriff-602509-concealed-county.htmlSheriff statement on their website:
http://ocsd.org/about/info/services/ccwLooking more at the Orange County Sheriff website, they now require an approved course of instruction for renewal... and an application fee. Doesn't say if that renewal fee is another $195, or if the class is the same class repeated again.